You are here

Current School Board

President, Tim Albert

Term Ends 11/2021

tim.albert@cardinalcomet.com

641-799-4343

 

Vice President, Carol Streeby

Term Ends 11/2019

carol.streeby@cardinalcomet.com

641-777-3407

 

Board Member, Roger Davis

Term Ends 11/2019

roger.davis@cardinalcomet.com

641-799-3368

 

Board Member, Andy Noe

Term Ends 11/2021

andy.noe@cardinalcomet.com

641-799-2880

 

Board Member, Tom Drish

Term Ends 11/2019

tom.drish@cardinalcomet.com

641-919-2157

 

School Board Secretary, Sherry VanBlaricom

sherry.vanblaricom@cardinalcomet.com

641-652-7531 ext 3201

 

CFO/SBO, Robin Leonard

robin.leonard@cardinalcomet.com

641-652-7531 ext 3207

 

When to Contact your School Board Members
School board members are elected to represent the interest of all parents and district residents; therefore, you should always feel free to share your point of view.

School board members do not, however, have direct authority in day to day operations. All authority is the result of official actions by a majority of the board at meetings open to the public.

The board's primary responsibility is to make policies that guide the school district. Any change in policy requires two readings at two separate public meetings, a procedure that often takes two or more months.

Some policy changes may require substantial public input and consultation with the school district's attorney, often increasing the time required for the board to respond.

When to contact a board member:

  • After other means to solve a problem have been tried.
  • When a policy is being enforced but you believe it results in bad consequences.
  • When you believe a policy isn't being enforced.
  • When policies or procedures are not enforced fairly for all.

A Board Member may take one or all the following actions:

  • Informally discuss the issue with the superintendent or other administrators to consider whether rules or policies could be changed.
  • Request the board review the specific policies that relate to the situation.
  • Propose new policies for the board's consideration.