Cardinal Community School Monday, April 8, 2019 Regular Board Meeting 21st Century Classroom 7:00 P.M.

Members Present: Director Carol Streeby, Director Andy Noe and Director Tim Albert Director Tom Drish and Director Roger Davis were present. Also present were Heather Buckley, Joel Pedersen, Cindy Green and Robin Leonard.

Visitors & Guests: Kristian Sanders, Drake Mefford, Hunter Lutts, Breanna Hornback, Amber Bremer, Gage Hinkle, Norah Veatch, Brittney Teno, Adyal Broyles, Maisi McCubbins, Kelsey Vorhies, Bailee Ehret, Brodie Mairet & Ciera Young.

Approval of Agenda: A motion was made by Director Drish and seconded by Director to add Item G. IAHSAA & IGHSAU School Classification Equity Resolution Under New Business. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of Consent Agenda Items: A motion was made by Director Noe and seconded by Director Davis to approve the minutes of the meeting held 3/25/19 and the monthly invoices in the amount of \$75,457.97 plus payroll. Motion carried 5-0.

Director Drish made a motion seconded by Director Davis to open a public hearing to amend the 2018-2019 budget. No comments

Director Drish made a motion seconded by Director Streeby to open a public hearing to adopt the proposed 2019-2020 budget. No comments.

Open Forum: No comments.

Accept Resignations: A motion was made by Director Davis and seconded by Director Noe to accept resignations from Koltin Pfaffle, High School Social Studies Teacher, Assistant Track Throwing Coach, Speech Sponsor & Assistant High School Football Coach, Dylan Hastings, High School Science Teacher, Assistant High School Football Coach and Breanna Phillips, Associate. Motion carried 5-0.

Approve Contracts: A motion was made by Director Drish and seconded by Director Streeby to approve contracts with Hannah Estabrook, Yearbook Club

2018-2019, Candice Guiter, Junior High Softball Coach 2018-2019, Makenzie Zeitler, Assistant High School Girls Basketball Coach, Amanda Jarvis, Special Education Teacher, Rich Mayson, Full-Time Substitute Teacher, Associate Head High School Football Coach, Middle School Girls and Boys Basketball Coach, Middle School Boys Track Coach and Summer Weight Training Coach. Motion carried 5-0.

Amend the FY19 Budgeet: A motion was made by Director Davis and seconded by Director Drish to amend the FY19 budget. Instruction from \$6,721,000 to \$6,9000,000; Support Services from \$3,534,500 to \$3,800,000; Noninstructional programs from \$500,000 to \$600,00. Motion carried 5-0.

Adopt the FY20 Budget: A motion was made by Director Noe seconded by Director Davis to adopt the FY20 budget as recommended. Our levy will remain the same as 2018-2019 at \$16.86. Motion carried 5-0.

Approve List of 2019 Graduates: A motion was made by Director Noe and seconded by Director Davis to approve the list of 2019 graduates providing they have met all Board of Education requirements. Motion carried 5-0.

Approve Administrative & Exempt Contracts: A motion was made by Director Streeby seconded by Director Noe to approve contracts for exempt and administrative contracts as follows with a 3% raise: Brenda Stevens, GPS College & Career Readiness Counselor (\$42,940), Heather Smith, Food Service Director (\$42,940), Karen Sieren, Accounting Assistant (\$39,140), Les Shepherd, Director of Maintenance & Operations (\$52,350), Tom Lamansky, Transportation Director (\$73,542), Sherry VanBlaricom, Board, Business & Athletic Secretary (\$55,935), Robin Leonard, School Business Manager (\$76.956), Jamie Pedersen, School Administrative Manager, Contract decreased from 178 days to 171 (\$29,326), Chris Becker, Activities Director (\$15,759), Cindy Green, Middle School Principal (\$96,970), Heather Buckley, Elementary Principal (\$91,733) and Landon Miller, High School Principal (\$84,048). Motion carried 5-0.

IAHSAA & IGHSAU School Classification Equity Resolution: Director Drish introduced and caused to be read the Resolution hereinafter set out and moved its adoption; seconded by Director Streeby after due consideration thereof by the Board, the President put the question upon the adoption of said Resolution and, the roll have been called, the following Directors voted: Aye: Carol Streeby, Andy Noe, Roger Davis, Tom Drish and Tim Albert. Whereupon the President declared said Resolution duly adopted.

Director Drish made a motion to move into closed session at 7:55 p.m. as per Iowa Code Closed Session 21.5 1 (i). Administrative Evaluations. Director Davis seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Director Albert – yes, Director Davis- yes, Director Drish – yes, Director Streeby – yes, and Director Noe – yes. Motion carried 5-0.

Reconvene into Open Session: The board reconvened into open session at 8:36 p.m.

Consider Superintendent Contract: Director Streeby made a motion seconded by Director Noe to extend Superintendent Joel Pedersen's contract 3 years with a 3% raise (\$168,803). Motion carried 5-0.

Adjournment: The meeting was adjournment	ourned at 8:37 p.m.
The next regular board meeting will	be Monday, May 20, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
Secretary Board of Education	President Roard of Education